Conceptual Issues

1. 8 years ago

Hi
    I'm new to pubcoder and trying to get the hang of it. But I got stuck.
    Ok, it's surprisingly easy to create a couple of demo pages and turn them into an ebook. I also understood that there is a workflow starting from Indesign material. Fair enough.

However, what if I do not what to get into InDesign? Am I indeed stuck with entering my entire content bit by bit into pubcoder?
    Or is there some way of importing (marked up) material? People I'm working for tend to use Word for writing manuscripts. (Not that I'm very fond of that approach but it's simply a fact I have to live with...). So the preferred path would be importing Markdown or HTML.

BTW, one of the main reasons I don't want to use InDesign is a rather fundamental one:
    to my mind one of the most important features of epub3 is freely flowing text. I mean, this is what it's all about, isn't it? Yet, I couldn't find any features in pubcoder that would support it. Ok, I could hack my way via CSS to get some sort of auto-layout, but that doesn't seem to be the pubcoder way of doing things, right?

Sorry guys, I just don't get it. Did I severely misunderstand the concept behind pubcoder? Can somebody please explain?

Cheers,
    Dieter

2. Paolo A

11 Jan 2016 Administrator

Hello Dieter,